Six Nations Championship

Rugby’s greatest games kick off

Entering its 21st year, the Six Nations pits the giants of the northern hemisphere against each other, in a fixture that’s become rugby union’s most eagerly anticipated annual competition. Jubilant crowds cheer, age-old rivalries resurface, and tension mounts as the six teams battle for pride – and glory.

A tale of three championships

The Six Nations began life in 1883 as the Home Nations Championship, featuring just England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. France joined the starting line-up in 1910 to create the Five Nations, and it wasn’t until 2000 that Italy’s arrival completed the Six Nations as we know it today.

Following a period of sustained French success, England, Wales and Ireland have dominated the last decade – with Wales returning as defending champions this year.

There are two games scheduled to take place at England’s home ground of Twickenham. Nestled in a leafy London suburb, Twickenham is Europe’s largest rugby stadium and has hosted some of the world’s biggest sporting spectacles. Now, England versus Ireland, and England versus Wales will continue this dramatic legacy, as the three favourite teams clash in front of the passionate home crowds.

I know when the players put that jersey on, the Welsh public just want to see [them] try hard – if they try hard, that’s all you can ask for.

Warren Gatland, Coach, led Wales to victory in Six Nations 2019

Find out more


England v Ireland
23 February 2020

England v Wales
7 March 2020


Twickenham Stadium
Whitton Road